DAKOTA COUNTY

2024 NOTICE OF OFFICES TO BE VOTED FOR AT THE STATE GENERAL ELECTION

The following is the notice of federal, state, and county offices that will be voted for in Dakota County at the state general election to be held on Tuesday, November 5, 2024. The filing period for U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative, State Representative, Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court, Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court, Judge of the Minnesota Court of Appeals, Judge of the District Court, Dakota County Commissioner, and Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 21, 2024, and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, June 4, 2024. The filing period for presidential elector candidates begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday May 21, 2024 and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, August 20, 2024, for non-major political party candidates and independent candidates. The certification deadline for major political party presidential elector candidates is August 27, 2024.

Note: Filing offices will be closed Monday, May 27, 2024, in observance of Memorial Day. For presidential elector candidates, filing offices will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, 2024, in observance of the Juneteenth Holiday and Thursday, July 4, 2024, in observance of Independence Day.

The place of filing for federal offices is the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Veterans Services Building, 20 West 12th Street, St. Paul, MN 55155.

The place of filing for county offices is Dakota County Elections, Suite 2300, 1590 Highway 55, Hastings, MN 55033. The place of filing for state offices and judicial offices is with the Office of the Secretary of State or County Auditor in the county where the candidate resides.

Candidates for judicial office may file either with the Minnesota Secretary of State or with the county auditor in the county where the candidate resides. A candidate filing for one of the Minnesota Court of Appeals seats that has been designated for one of the congressional districts must be a resident of that congressional district.

Candidates may file in person or by mail, if the filing is received during the filing period. Candidates who will be absent from the state during the filing period and meet the requirements of Minn Stat. 204B.09, subdivision 1a, may arrange to file during the seven days immediately preceding the candidate's absence from the state. This notice is sent based on current law and is provided pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 204B.33.

Federal Offices: U.S. Presidential Electors, U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative District 2

<u>State Offices</u>: State Representative, one office per district, Districts 20A, 41B, 52A, 52B, 53A, 53B, 55A, 55B, 56A, 56B, 57A, 57B, 58A, 58B, 65B

MN Judicial Offices (incumbent): Chief Justice of the Supreme Court (Natalie E. Hudson); Associate Justice of the Supreme Court Seats 5 (Anne K. McKeig) and 6 (Karl Procaccini); Court of Appeals Seats 2 (Jonathan P. Schmidt), 3 (2nd Congressional District) (Sarah Wheelock), 4 (Tracy M. Smith), 6 (1st Congressional District) (Renee L. Worke), 8 (Keala C. Ede), 12 (Diane B. Bratvold), 14 (8th Congressional District) (Elise L. Larson); First District Court Seats 6 (David L. Knutson), 10 (Paula D. Vraa), 14 (Michael J. Mayer), 20 (Bryce Ehrman), 24 (Jamie L. Cork), 26 (Jody L. Winters), 29 (Jessica J.W. Maher), 30 (Douglas C. Bayley), 31 (Richelle M. Wahi), 32 (Kathryn Iverson Landrum), 33 (Tori K. Stewart), 35 (Stacy Sorensen Green)

<u>County Offices</u>: County Commissioner, one office per district, Districts: 4, 5, 7; Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor, one office per district, Districts 1 (two-year term), 2 (two-year term), 3 (two-year term)